Quantcast

About Meditation? Ум и сознание -- это две разные вещи, или 'молчаливый' ум и есть то, что называют сознанием?

Ум и сознание -- это две разные вещи, или 'молчаливый' ум и есть то, что называют сознанием?

<< Back

Это зависит. Это зависит от вас. По мне, ум -- это то, что было дано вам. Это не ваше. Ум означает одолженное, выращенное, это то, что общество посадило в вас. Это не вы. Сознание -- это ваша природа; ум -- поле, созданное обществом вокруг вас, культура, образование.

Ум означает обусловленности. Вы можете иметь ум индуиста, но у вас не может быть сознания индуиста. Вы можете иметь ум христианина, но у вас не может быть сознания христианина. Сознание одно -- и оно неделимо. Умов много, потому что много видов общества; много культур; много религий. Каждая культура, каждое общество создает разные типы ума. Ум -- это суб-продукт общества. И если вы не растворите этот ум, вы не можете идти глубже; вы не можете знать, что на самом деле является вашей природой, вашим существованием, вашим сознанием.

Попытка идти глубже в медитацию -- это всегда борьба против ума. Ум никогда не может быть медитативным, он не может быть молчаливым, нельзя сказать 'молчаливый ум' -- это бессмыслица, абсурд. Это все равно, что сказать 'здоровая болезнь'. Как болезнь может быть здоровой? Болезнь это болезнь, а здоровье -- это отсутствие болезни.

Нет ничего похожего на молчаливый ум. Когда есть тишина, нет ума. Там, где есть ум, там нет тишины. Ум как таковой -- это волнение. Медитация -- это состояние вне-ума. Не молчаливого ума, не здорового ума, не сконцентрированного ума, нет. Медитация -- это состояние вне-ума: внутри вас нет ни общества, ни обусловленностей. Только вы, только ваше чистое сознание.

В Дзен говорят: найдите ваше истинное лицо. Лицо, которым вы пользуетесь, -- не настоящее; оно создано вами. Это не ваше лицо; это всего лишь фасад, всего лишь средство. У вас много лиц, для каждого момента вы приберегаете свое. Вы продолжаете менять их. Эта смена лиц стала для вас автоматической, вы даже не замечаете этого.

Когда вы встречаете своего подчиненного, у вас одно лицо. Когда вы встречаете босса, у вас другое лицо. Если ваш подчиненный сидит слева от вас, а ваш босс справа, у вас два разных лица. Левое лицо для подчиненного, правое для босса. Вы одновременно два разных человека. У вас два разных взгляда -- для босса и подчиненного. Это стало для вас настолько автоматическим, настолько механическим, как робот, вы меняете свои лица, но ни одно из них не является настоящим.

В дзен говороят: найдите свое истинное лицо, лицо, которое было у вас до того, как вы появились на свет, или лицо, которое будет у вас, когда вы умрете. Которое из них настоящее? Настоящее лицо -- это ваше сознание. Все остальные лица происходят из вашего ума.

Запомните еще, что у вас не один ум; у вас много умов. Забудьте, что вам говорили, будто у каждого человека один ум. У вас их много: толпа, множество. Утром у вас один ум, днем другой и вечером третий. Для каждого момента у вас свой ум.

Ум находится в состоянии непрерывного изменения: как река, он движется, перетекает. Сознание -- оно одно, вечное. Оно не может быть разным утром и вечером. Оно не может быть разным, когда вы рождаетесь и умираете. Оно всегда одно и то же, вечное. Ум же всегда в состоянии изменения. У ребенка детский ум, у старика старческий; но и у ребенка и у старика одно и то же сознание, которое никогда не бывает детским или старческим. Просто не может быть.

Ум движется во времени, а сознание живет в безвременье. И они -- не одно и то же. Но мы идентифицируем их. Мы продолжаем повторять, настаивая: 'Мой ум. Я думаю так. Это моя мысль. Это моя идеология'. И идентифицируя себя со своим умом, вы упускаете себя настоящего.

Разорвите эти связи с умом. Помните, что ваши умы -- это не вы сами. Они были навязаны вам другими: родителями, обществом, университетом. Они были вам даны. Выкиньте их. Останьтесь с тем простым сознанием, которым вы и являетесь, -- чистым сознанием, свежим, невинным. Вот как движутся от ума к медитации. Вот как движутся от созданного людьми мира, майя, к бесконечной правде, существованию.


Ошо: The New Alchemy: To Turn You On, #10

<< Back

Quantcast

About Meditation? Are mind and consciousness two separate things or is the silent mind what is called consciousness?

Are mind and consciousness two separate things or is the silent mind what is called consciousness?

<< Back

It depends. It depends on your definition. But to me, mind is that part which has been given to you. It is not yours. Mind means the borrowed, mind means the cultivated, mind means that which the society has penetrated into you. It is not you. Consciousness is your nature; mind is just the circumference created by the society around you, the culture, your education.

Mind means the conditioning. You can have a Hindu mind, but you cannot have a Hindu consciousness. You can have a Christian mind, but you can't have a Christian consciousness. Consciousness is one; it is not divisible. Minds are many because societies are many; cultures, religions are many. Each culture, each society, creates a different mind. Mind is a social by-product. And unless this mind dissolves, you cannot go within; you cannot know what is really your nature, what is authentically your existence, your consciousness.

The effort to move into meditation is a struggle against the mind. Mind is never meditative, it is never silent, so to say 'a silent mind' is meaningless, absurd. It is just like saying 'a healthy disease'. It makes no sense. How can there be a disease that is healthy? Disease is disease, and health is the absence of disease.

There is nothing like a silent mind. When silence is there, there is no mind. When mind is there, there is no silence. Mind, as such, is the disturbance, the disease. Meditation is the state of no-mind. Not of a silent mind, not of a healthy mind, not of a concentrated mind, no. Meditation is the state of no-mind: no society within you, no conditioning within you. Just you, with your pure consciousness.

In Zen they say: Find out your original face. The face that you are using is not original; it is cultivated. It is not your face; it is just a facade, just a device. You have many faces, each moment you change your face. You go on changing it. The changing has become so automatic by now that you don't even observe it, you don't notice it.

When you meet your servant you have a different face from when you meet your boss. If your servant is sitting on your left side and your boss is sitting on your right, you have two faces. The left face is for the servant and the right face is for the boss. You are two persons simultaneously. How can you have the same face for your servant? Your one eye has a certain quality, a certain look. Your other eye has a different quality, a different look. It is meant for the boss and the other one is meant for the servant. This has become so automatic, so mechanical, so robot like that you go on changing your faces, you have multi-faces, and not a single one is the original.

In Zen they say: Find out your original face, the face you had before you were born, or the face you will have when you are dead. What is that original face? That original face is your consciousness. All your other faces come from your mind.

Remember well that you don't have one mind; you have multi-minds. Forget the concept that everyone has one mind. You don't have, you have many minds: a crowd, a multiplicity; you are poly-psychic. In the morning you have one mind, in the afternoon a different mind and in the evening still a different mind. Every single moment you have a different mind.

Mind is a flux: river like, flowing, changing. Consciousness is eternal, one. It is not different in the morning and different in the evening. It is not different when you are born and different when you die. It is one and the same, eternal. Mind is a flux. A child has a childish mind, an old man has an old mind; but a child or an old man have the same consciousness, which is neither childish nor old. It cannot be.

Mind moves in time and consciousness lives in timelessness. They are not one. But we are identified with the mind. We go on saying, insisting, 'My mind. I think this way. This is my thought. This is my ideology.' Because of this identification with the mind, you miss that which you really are.

Dissolve these links with the mind. Remember that your minds are not your own. They have been given to you by others: your parents, your society, your university. They have been given to you. Throw them away. Remain with the simple consciousness that you are ¯ pure consciousness, innocent. This is how one moves from the mind to meditation. This is how one moves away from society, from the without to the within. This is how one moves from the man-made world, the maya, to the universal truth, the existence.

Osho, The New Alchemy: To Turn You On, Talk #27

To continue reading, click here

<< Back