Quantcast

About Meditation? Was ist Vipassana?

Was ist Vipassana?

<< Back

Vipassana ist so eine einfache Methode, dass jedes kleine Kind sie machen kann. Tatsächlich kann ein kleines Kind das besser als du, weil sein Verstand noch nicht mit Müll gefüllt ist; er ist noch sauber und unschuldig...

Vipassana kann auf drei verschiedene Arten gemacht werden, und du kannst wählen, welche dir am meisten liegt. Die erste: Aufmerksamkeit für deine Handlungen, deinen Körper, deinen Verstand, dein Herz. Wenn du gehst, gehe mit Aufmerksamkeit. Wenn du deine Hand bewegst, bewege sie mit Aufmerksamkeit, im vollen Bewusstsein, dass du sie bewegst. Man kann sie auch völlig unbewusst bewegen, fast mechanisch; wenn du spazieren gehst, kannst du auch gehen, ohne jemals auf deine Füße zu achten. Werde also aufmerksam auf die Bewegungen deines Körpers. Wenn du ißt, sei aufmerksam auf die Bewegungen, die beim Essen nötig sind. Wenn du eine kalte Dusche nimmst, sei aufmerksam, wie die Kühle des Wassers dich berührt und Freude in dir hervorruft... Sei einfach aufmerksam. Es sollte nichts in einem unbewussten Zustand geschehen.

Und das gleiche gilt für den Verstand: Für jeden Gedanken, der auf dem Bildschirm deines Verstandes auftaucht, sei einfach Beobachter. Und ebenso für jede Emotion, die auf dem Bildschirm deines Herzens abläuft: Bleib einfach Zeuge – lass dich nicht hineinziehen, werde nicht identifiziert. Bewerte nicht: was ist gut, was ist schlecht – das hat nichts mit Meditation zu tun. Deine Meditation soll nicht-wertende Aufmerksamkeit sein.

Nach und nach wirst du imstande sein, auch ganz feine Stimmungen wahrzunehmen: wie Traurigkeit sich auf dich herabsenkt – so wie die Nacht sich ganz langsam auf die Welt herabsenkt – oder wie eine Kleinigkeit dich plötzlich fröhlich macht.

Sei einfach ein Zeuge. Denke nicht: »Ich bin traurig.« Sei dir einfach bewusst, dass Traurigkeit dich einhüllt, Freude dich einhüllt. Du siehst dich einer bestimmten Emotion oder Stimmung gegenüber. Aber du bist immer weit entfernt – ein Wächter auf dem Berge –, und alles andere spielt sich unten im Tale ab. Das ist eine Möglichkeit, wie du Vipassana machen kannst.

Und mein Gefühl ist, dass es für eine Frau die einfachste Möglichkeit ist, weil eine Frau sich ihres Körpers mehr bewusst ist als ein Mann. Es ist natürlich für sie. Sie achtet mehr darauf, wie sie aussieht, wie sie sich bewegt, wie sie sitzt; sie achtet immer auf ihre Anmut, und das ist nicht nur anerzogen, sondern biologisch bedingt und ganz natürlich für sie.

Mütter, die mindestens zwei oder drei Kinder geboren haben, können nach einer bestimmten Zeit spüren, ob sie einen Jungen oder ein Mädchen in ihrem Bauch tragen. Der Junge fängt an, Fußball zu spielen; er tritt hierhin und dorthin, er macht sich bemerkbar – er lässt dich wissen, dass er da ist. Das Mädchen bleibt still und entspannt.
Es ist also keine Frage der Konditionierung, denn sogar im Mutterleib kannst du den Unterschied zwischen einem Jungen und einem Mädchen erkennen. Der Junge ist hektisch; er kann nicht stillsitzen. Er ist überall. Er will alles tun und alles wissen. Das Mädchen verhält sich völlig anders...

Die zweite Art Vipassana besteht im Atmen: Aufmerksamkeit für das Atmen. Wenn der Atem hineingeht, hebt sich der Bauch, und wenn der Atem hinausgeht, senkt sich der Bauch wieder. Diese zweite Methode besteht also darin, aufmerksam auf das Heben und Senken des Bauches zu sein, einfach nur zu beobachten, wie der Bauch sich hebt und senkt... Und der Bauch ist der Quelle unseres Lebens am nächsten, weil das Kind über den Nabel mit der Lebensenergie der Mutter verbunden ist. Hinter dem Nabel befindet sich die Lebensquelle. Wenn also der Bauch sich hebt, ist es in Wirklichkeit die Lebensenergie, die Quelle des Lebens, die sich mit jedem Atemzug hebt und wieder senkt. Auch das ist nicht schwierig, und vielleicht sogar noch leichter als die erste Methode, weil es sich um eine einzige Technik handelt.

Bei der ersten Methode musst du auf den Körper achten, auf den Verstand und auf die Emotionen und Stimmungen; das heißt, sie besteht aus drei Schritten. Bei der zweiten gibt es nur einen einzigen Schritt: den Bauch mit seinen Auf- und Abbewegungen zu beobachten. Das Resultat ist das gleiche: Wenn du die Aufmerksamkeit auf deinen Bauch richtest, wird der Verstand ruhig, wird das Herz still, und die Stimmungen verschwinden.

Die dritte Art besteht darin, auf den Atem bei seinem Ein- und Austritt zu achten – wenn die Atemluft durch die Nasenlöcher streicht. Fühle den Atem an diesem Ende – dem anderen Pol, statt dem Bauch – fühle ihn an der Nase. Der einströmende Atem fühlt sich in den Nasenöffnungen kühl an. Und dann der ausströmende Atem... einströmender Atem, ausströmender Atem.

Dies ist ebenfalls möglich. Es ist leichter für Männer als für Frauen. Die Frau ist ihrem Bauch näher. Die meisten Männer atmen noch nicht einmal bis in den Bauch hinein. Ihre Brust hebt und senkt sich, weil wir ein falsches athletisches Ideal haben. Gewiss, der Körper hat eine schönere Form, wenn die Brust hervortritt und der Bauch fast verschwindet.

Das sind die drei Arten Vipassana – jede von ihnen ist geeignet. Und wenn du zwei Arten miteinander kombinieren willst, ist auch das möglich; dann wird deine Bemühung noch intensiver sein. Wenn du alle drei zusammen machen willst, kannst du sie miteinander kombinieren. Dadurch beschleunigt sich der Prozess. Doch es hängt ganz von dir ab – was sich für dich leicht anfühlt. Vergiss nicht: Das, was leicht ist, ist richtig.

Wenn deine Meditation sich einspielt, kommt der Geist zur Ruhe, das Ego verschwindet. Du wirst da sein, aber ohne ein Gefühl von »ich«. Dann sind die Türen offen. Dann warte einfach – mit liebender Sehnsucht, mit großer Bereitschaft im Herzen – warte auf den großen Augenblick, den größten Augenblick im Leben eines Menschen: die Erleuchtung.

Sie kommt... sie kommt gewiss. Sie hat noch nie gezögert, nicht einen einzigen Augenblick. Wenn du erst einmal in der richtigen Einstimmung bist, wird sie plötzlich in dir explodieren, wird sie dich transformieren. Dann stirbt der alte Mensch, und der neue Mensch wird geboren.

Ein Witz... Der Große Häuptling Sitting Bull leidet seit vielen Monden an Verstopfung. Darum schickt er seine Lieblingssquaw zum Medizinmann um Hilfe. Der Medizinmann gibt ihr drei Tabletten für den Großen Häuptling mit, und am nächsten Tag soll sie ihm berichten, ob es gewirkt hat.
Am nächsten Morgen kommt die Squaw mit der Botschaft: »Großer Häuptling keine Scheiße.« Also gibt ihr der Medizinmann die doppelte Dosis.
Tags darauf kommt sie mit der Botschaft wieder: »Großer Häuptling keine Scheiße.« Er sagt ihr, sie soll die Dosis wieder verdoppeln.
Doch wieder kommt sie mit der gleichen Botschaft. So geht das eine Woche lang, und schließlich rät ihr der Medizinmann, sie soll Sitting Bull die ganze Schachtel geben.
Am nächsten Morgen kommt sie ganz traurig wieder. »Was ist los, mein Kind?« fragt der Medizinmann. Die kleine Squaw schaut ihn mit Tränen in den Augen an und sagt: »Große Scheiße, kein Häuptling!«

Eines Tages wird es euch geschehen – und das wird ein großartiger Augenblick sein! Das nenne ich den richtigen Augenblick.


Osho: The New Dawn , Chapter 16

<< Back

Quantcast

About Meditation? What is vipassana?

<< Back

Vipassana is such a simple thing that even a small child can do it. In fact, the smallest child can do it better than you, because he is not yet filled with the garbage of the mind; he is still clean and innocent….

Vipassana can be done in three ways ¯ you can choose which one suits you the best. The first is: Awareness of your actions, your body, your mind, your heart. Walking, you should walk with awareness. Moving your hand, you should move with awareness, knowing perfectly that you are moving the hand. You can move it without any consciousness, like a mechanical thing. You are on a morning walk; you can go on walking without being aware of your feet. Be alert of the movements of your body. While eating, be alert of the movements that are needed for eating. Taking a shower, be alert of the coolness that is coming to you, the water falling on you and the tremendous joy of it.... Just be alert. It should not go on happening in an unconscious state.

And the same about your mind: whatever thought passes on the screen of your mind, just be a watcher. Whatever emotion passes on the screen of your heart, just remain a witness ¯ don't get involved, don't get identified, don't evaluate what is good, what is bad; that is not part of your meditation. Your meditation has to be choiceless awareness.

You will be able one day even to see very subtle moods: how sadness settles in you just like the night is slowly, slowly settling around the world, how suddenly a small thing makes you joyous.

Just be a witness. Don't think, 'I am sad.' Just know, 'There is sadness around me, there is joy around me. I am confronting a certain emotion or a certain mood.' But you are always far away: a watcher on the hills, and everything else is going on in the valley. This is one of the ways vipassana can be done.

And for a woman, my feeling is that it is the easiest, because a woman is more alert of her body than a man. It is just her nature. She is more conscious of how she looks, she is more conscious of how she moves, she is more conscious of how she sits; she is always conscious of being graceful. And it is not only a conditioning; it is something natural and biological.

Mothers who have experienced having at least two or three children, start feeling after a certain time whether they are carrying a boy or girl in their womb. The boy starts playing football; he starts kicking here and there, he starts making himself felt ¯ he announces that he is here. The girl remains silent and relaxed; she does not play football, she does not kick, she does not announce. She remains as quiet as possible, as relaxed as possible.
So it is not a question of conditioning, because even in the womb you can see the difference between the boy and the girl. The boy is hectic; he cannot sit in one place. He is all over the place. He wants to do everything, he wants to know everything. The girl behaves in a totally different way….

The second form is breathing, becoming aware of breathing. As the breath goes in, your belly starts rising up, and as the breath goes out, your belly starts settling down again. So the second method is to be aware of the belly, its rising and falling. Just the very awareness of the belly rising and falling ... And the belly is very close to the life sources because the child is joined with the mother's life through the navel. Behind the navel is his life's source. So when the belly rises up, it is really the life energy, the spring of life that is rising up and falling down with each breath. That too is not difficult, and perhaps may be even easier, because it is a single technique.

In the first, you have to be aware of the body, you have to be aware of the mind, you have to be aware of your emotions, moods. So it has three steps. The second sort has a single step: just the belly, moving up and down. And the result is the same. As you become more aware of the belly, the mind becomes silent, the heart becomes silent, the moods disappear.

And the third is to be aware of the breath at the entrance, when the breath goes in through your nostrils. Feel it at that extreme ¯ the other polarity from the belly ¯ feel it from the nose. The breath going in gives a certain coolness to your nostrils. Then the breath going out ... breath going in, breath going out....

That too is possible. It is easier for men than for women. The woman is more aware of the belly. Most men don't even breathe as deep as the belly. Their chest rises up and falls down, because a wrong kind of athletics prevails over the world. Certainly it gives a more beautiful form to the body if your chest is high and your belly is almost non-existent.
Man has chosen to breathe only up to the chest, so the chest becomes bigger and bigger and the belly shrinks down. That appears to him to be more athletic. Around the world, except in Japan, all athletes and teachers of athletes emphasize breathing by filling your lungs, expanding your chest, and pulling the belly in. The ideal is the lion whose chest is big and whose belly is very small. So be like a lion; that has become the rule of athletic gymnasts and the people who have been working with the body.

Japan is the only exception, where they don't care that the chest should be broad and the belly should be pulled in. It needs a certain discipline to pull the belly in; it is not natural. Japan has chosen the natural way; hence you will be surprised to see a Japanese statue of Buddha. That is the way you can immediately discriminate whether the statue is Indian or Japanese. The Indian statues of Gautam Buddha have a very athletic body: the belly is very small and the chest is very broad. But the Japanese Buddha is totally different; his chest is almost silent, because he breathes from the belly, but his belly is bigger. It doesn't look very good because the idea prevalent in the world is the other way round, and it is so old. But breathing from the belly is more natural, more relaxed.

In the night it happens when you sleep: you don't breathe from the chest, you breathe from the belly. That's why the night is such a relaxed experience. After your sleep, in the morning you feel so fresh, so young, because the whole night you were breathing naturally...you were in Japan!

These are the two points: if you are afraid that breathing from the belly and being attentive to its rising and falling will destroy your athletic form...men may be more interested in that athletic form. Then for them it is easier to watch near the nostrils where the breath enters. Watch, and when the breath goes out, watch.

These are the three forms. Any one will do. And if you want to do two forms together, you can do two forms together; then the effort will become more intense. If you want to do all three forms together, you can do all three forms together. Then the process will be quicker. But it all depends on you, whatever feels easy.
Remember: easy is right.

As meditation becomes settled, mind silent, the ego will disappear. You will be there, but there will be no feeling of 'I.' Then the doors are open. Just wait with a loving longing, with a welcome in the heart for that great moment, the greatest moment in anybody's life ¯ enlightenment.

It comes ... it certainly comes. It has never delayed for a single moment. Once you are in the right tuning, it suddenly explodes in you, transforms you. The old man is dead and the new man has arrived.

Big Chief Sitting Bull had been constipated for many moons. So he sent his favorite squaw to the medicine man for help. The medicine man gave the squaw three pills and told her to give them to the chief, and then report back to him the next morning.
The next morning the squaw came back with the message, 'Big chief no shit.' So the medicine man told her to double the dose.
The next day, she came back with the message, 'Big Chief no shit.' So again he told her to double the dose.
Again she came back with the same message. This went on for a week, and finally the medicine man told the squaw to give Sitting Bull the whole box.
The next morning, she came back with a very sad expression. 'What is wrong, my child?' asked the medicine man. The little squaw looked at him with tears in her eyes and said, 'Big Shit, no chief!'

One day it will happen to you, and that will be a great moment. That's what I am calling the right moment.

Osho, The New Dawn, Talk #16

To continue reading, click here

<< Back